A Faultline Album Review

Faultline - Your Love Means Everything

(Blanco y Negro/Warner Music UK)

While some may want to dismiss this as the latest answer to “Chill Out” electronic music, it hovers above the heap, way above. Even without vocal performances by Chris Martin (Coldplay) on “Where Is My Boy” and “Your Love Means Everything Part 2” as well as Michael Stipe (R.E.M.) on “Greenfields,” this album is a plenary effort. Additional vocals by Jacob Golden and Wayne Coyne (The Flaming Lips) also provide a departure from the mesmeric compositions.

Faultline (a.k.a. David Kosten) is dark, but still gives hope. It eases with a dash of panic. So beautifully orchestrated that you’ll want to curl up in a ball with headphones on, eyes closed, only to open them and realize that you are still in the same place you began your passage. Love Means Everything is one of the most thoughtful electronic albums to come this year.

Brad Barrish @bradbarrish